Qualifying

To play in the Under 8, Under 10 or Under 12 Finals players must qualify by obtaining a high enough score in a qualifying event or by grade.
(No qualification is necessary to play in the older age groups)

Qualification by grade
Pre qualification for Major Events in the following sections is based on published ECF Grades (Standard or Rapidplay A, B, C, D or X)
Under 8 Grade 50 or higher
Under 10 Grade 110 or higher
Under 12 Grade 140 or higher

Scores required in Qualifying Events
Under 8 - 4 points or more out of 6 qualifies for the final.
Under 10 Major - 4.5 points or more out of 6 qualifies for the final.
Under 10 Minor - 3.5 points or 4 points out of 6 qualifies for the final.
Under 12 Major - 4.5 points or more out of 6 qualifies for the final.
Under 12 Minor - 3.5 points or 4 points out of 6 qualifies for the final.

Players who qualify for a Major event may not play in the corresponding Minor event.



List of qualifying events as at 05 August 2017. Not all dates and venues are confirmed so please check with local organisers before making arrangements.

Date Event Organiser
Telephone
email entry form
26/08/2017 North London Rob Willmoth 0795 629 7329 rob@barnetknights.com  
02/09/2017 Stanmore Kishan Pattni 0741 167 1312 kishanpattni84@gmail.com pdf
16/09/2017 Kent JCA Grand Prix 1 Gary Dorman 0771 347 9169 garydorman@hotmail.com Online
17/09/2017 Barnet Knights Rob Willmoth 0795 629 7329 rob@barnetknights.com  
17/09/2017 Horris Hill Nick Pert nickpert@hotmail.com Online
30/09/2017 Hampton Paul McKeown 020 8756 0474 paulmckeown_dpk@hotmail.com pdf
07/10/2017 Belfast Mark Newman 0787 254 4868 mark.chris.newman@googlemail.com  
07/10/2017 Chelmsford Dave Hawkins 020 8531 5066 davehawkins126@googlemail.com pdf
07/10/2017 Coulsdon Scott Freeman 020 8645 9586 chess@ccfworld.com  
08/10/2017 Camden Lateefah Messam-Sparks 0771 546 1347 chesssparks@gmail.com pdf
08/10/2017 Elstree Ravi Kumar 0740 444 0770 chesscheck@gmail.com  
14/10/2017 Berkshire Brent Smith   brent@smithzone.org.uk  
14/10/2017 Sussex Carol Graham info@sussexjuniorchess.org  
15/10/2017 Hampshire John Upham   john.upham@zen.co.uk  
22/10/2017 Kent JCA Grand Prix 2 Gary Dorman 0771 347 9169 garydorman@hotmail.com Online
22/10/2017 Middlesex Angela Eyton 0793 992 0237 angelaeyton@aol.com  
22/10/2017 Wey Valley - Surrey Pat Armstrong 01372 726762 office@weyvalleychess.org.uk  
28/10/2017 Holland Park Kishan Pattni 0741 167 1312 kishanpattni84@gmail.com pdf
29/10/2017 Barnet Junior Chess Tony Niccoli 0773 481 6436 tony1n@yahoo.com  
05/11/2017 Potters Bar Ravi Kumar 0740 444 0770 chesscheck@gmail.com  
05/11/2017 Wiltshire Junior Open Steve Jones 0778 334 7808 events@wiltshirejuniorchess.com  
11/11/2017 Maidenhead Claires Court Schools Nigel Dennis 01491 576052 nigelwdennis@btinternet.com pdf
12/11/2017 Barnet & Finchley John Fleetwood 020 8346 2472 johnfleetwoodj@aol.com pdf
19/11/2017 Basildon Nathanael Lutton 0788 538 1768 chessorganiser@gmail.com pdf
25/11/2017 Garden Suburb Rob Willmoth 0795 629 7329 rob@barnetknights.com  
25/11/2017 Northampton Lateefah Messam-Sparkes 0771 546 1347 chesssparks@gmail.com pdf
26/11/2017 Shenley Tony Niccoli 0773 481 6436 tony1n@yahoo.com  
26/11/2017 Wellington College Nick Pert nickpert@hotmail.com Online
02/12/2017 Twickenham Paul McKeown 020 8756 0474 paulmckeown_dpk@hotmail.com pdf
03/12/2017 Woodbridge Adam Hunt 01394 615000  ahunt@woodbridgeschool.org.uk  
10/12/2017 St Albans Ravi Kumar 0740 444 0770 chesscheck@gmail.com  
16/12/2017 Harrow U12 Nathanael Lutton 0771 409 8342 entry@ljcc.co.uk

pdf

Online

 

This site is maintained by Nathanael Lutton. All information is believed correct at the time of publication.